Houses Recall You

– I was brought here, build and left. Alone, between two, by the sea far east. This place isn’t made houses, nor people. This is no place for us. Men constructed me by timber, but I’ve never spoken to any living tree. How could they do this to me?

– I was young a hundred years before the bombs fell. The fires ruined my view, bringing new arrivals from the ashes. Tall and bright, shiny boxes of un-shattered houslings. The War brought memories and crafts to an end. Thus I became old and forgotten.

– I was a home, a playmate and a lifesaver. I was their life, their heart and thought. Then people left, without ever noticing I was lost. Here. Between the road and the sea. How could they do this to me?


Vadsø, Finnmark Norway August 2011

One comment on “Houses Recall You”

  1. nice photo


Leave a Reply

